Our Governors

St Mary’s Independent School is governed by a board of governors which holds the senior management team to account and ensures that high standards are maintained across the curriculum and wider opportunities in line with its values and mission.

Claire Charlemagne

Executive Head Teacher

Claire Charlemagne graduated from the University of Bradford, UK, in 1999 with an honours degree in European Studies. She spent a year teaching English in the French island of La Réunion and then returned to the UK to complete her PGCE in Secondary Modern Foreign Languages (French and Spanish). After teaching in the UK she […]

Nick Vaughan LLB, ALCM.


Nick, Chair of Governors, took up his position from Brother Francis in September 2013.  As a former pupil he is well placed to ensure that the educational mission and objectives of the school continue to be delivered to the high standards that ensured he went on to achieve well in his career. He is the […]

Bro. Francis Patterson. fic O.B.E. M.Sc. FRSA


Bro. Francis is a former student of St Mary’s who joined the Brothers Community and who is a former head teacher of St Mary’s but spent a long period of headship in St Francis Xavier’s College, Liverpool. He remains a governor and trustee of both St. Mary’s and St Francis Xavier’s College. He is currently […]

Sharon Davey ACMA, IOD


Sharon is a parent at St Mary’s and is Chair of the Finance and Resources Committee. Sharon is part of the leadership team for Hampshire Probation Trust and is a qualified Chartered Accountant with considerable financial experience in both the private and public sectors.

Heather Eyres MCIPD


Heather is a Foundation Governor with responsibility for Safeguarding and link Governor for the Nursery. She is also a member of the Resources Sub Committee. Heather is a Human Resources professional in the Education sector and was previously employed in Education Personnel Services, at Hampshire County Council. She is currently employed as Human Resources Manager […]

David Cheeseman

Head of P.E.

David is a current member of the teaching staff and is on the Education Sub Committee.  He is a committed Christian, married with two young children, with over 13 years of teaching experience – the majority at St Mary’s.  David is passionate about helping the school to perform to the best of its ability ensuring […]

Theresa Finking


Theresa Finking is the clerk of the governing body and has been supporting and advising the governing body since May 2013. She brings with her a wealth of experience and a passion for this type of work, having worked in schools for over 12 years. She understands the importance of strong, effective leadership and works […]

Pat McCarthy BA (Hons)


Pat has a long association with St Mary’s and retired as Head of English and Deputy Head Teacher in 2007. He brings with him a vast experience and understanding of the education system and the community it serves. Pat is a member of the Education Sub Committee.

Julia Husband


Julia is a Parent Governor; her eldest son is currently in the Prep department. She has been working as an Econometric Consultant for the past 10+ years. Now a freelance consultant, Julia carries out forecasting, optimisation and data science projects across the UK. Previously, Julia held senior positions at some of the world’s largest companies (WPP […]

Jon Barnes ACCA


Jon is a parent at St Mary's. He currently works for the University of Southampton looking after Finance Systems. As a qualified Chartered Accountant he has many years' experience financial experience in the public and private sectors.

If you would like to contact any of our governors, please email: clerkofgovernors@stmiss.co.uk or write to the School, addressing your envelope to ‘Clerk of Governors – Confidential’.


The Board of Governors has been entrusted with the strategic management and accountability of the school by the Trustees who are Bro. Peter, Bro. James, Bro. Jacques, Bro. Louis and Bro. Francis. They are chaired by Bro. Peter and Bro. Francis is the link governor who attends meetings of the St Mary’s Governors.

Our principal registered Trustee address is:

Brothers of Christian Instruction
St Francis Xavier’s College
Beaconsfield Road
L25 6EG