Old Simmarians

St. Mary’s Independent School is proud of the achievements of all of its pupils and is pleased to share some of their successes below:


We’d like to thank Tom Olding the College archivist, Fr Michael Peters and Alex Matthews for their efforts in providing these priceless archives of our history.

Please follow the link below for the school archives


  • Philip Hoare – Award-winning author, Tv programme maker, journalist, Professor of Creative Writing Southampton University.
  • Andrew Surman – Former Southampton FC now a Bournemouth FC player
  • Richard Deverell – Director of Kew Gardens
  • Prof. Roger Williams, CBE – Specialist Doctor at King’s College Hospital in the treatment of pathological conditions of the liver and Director of the Institute of Hepatology.
  • Patrick Garland -Theatre and film director – probably the only old Simmarian to have won a Golden Globe!
  • Gerry Whent – Head of the Office of Budget Responsibility.
  • Robert Chote – Director of the Office of Budget Responsibility
  • Nick Holmes – Southampton FA Cup winning team
  • Prof. Anthony Dickinson – Professor of Neuropharmacology, University College, London
  • John Burton-Race – Michelin starred celebrity chef who featured on Masterchef
  • Prof. Paul Rodhouse – British Antarctic Survey Team
  • Barry Clarke – President, Save The Children
  • Jonathan Lowe MBE – Lt. Col., Sandhurst
  • Bro. Francis Patterson OBE – Chairman of Trustees, St. Mary’s Independent School
  • Patrick Trant – Trant Constuction Co.
  • Lawrence Till – Theatre and TV director and producer.
  • Prof. Nick Watkins – Professor in Centre for Analysis of Time Series at the London School of Economics.
  • John Titcombe – Technical directtor Sailsbury Playhouse.
  • Mark Osterfield – Executive Director Tate St Ives
  • Toby Clarke – Theatre director
  • Damian Gardener -Consultant Clinical Psychologist
  • Ian Baird – Ex- Professional  football player and manager
  • Andrew Pate – ITV presenter
  • Paul McNamara – Senior Producer ITV Sports
  • Mark Eitzel – Musician and composer
  • Nathan Bostock – Chief Executive Officer Santander UK
  • Professor Matthew Whitby – Biolochemistry Department University of Oxford